Wednesday, July 11, 2007

Washington Cnty close to wheel tax vote


After months of debate, Washington County commissioners seem closer than ever to enacting a wheel tax in order to pay off the county's debt service.

During a called meeting Tuesday, commissioners voted 17-7 in favor of instructing County Attorney John Rambo to draw up a $50 wheel tax proposal after being told they couldn't vote on the tax at a called meeting.

"We've discussed this thing for months now, you know what you're voting on," said Commissioner Pat Wolfe.

Wolfe, along with Commissioners Greg Matherly, Pete Speropulos, Paul Woodby, C.B. Kinch, Frank Bolus, Mark Hicks, Jim Powell, Phil McPeak, Wendell Messimer, Kyle Shell, Gerald Sparks, Scott Buckingham, Mark Larkey, Janice White, Ben Bowman and Evert Jarrett voted in favor of introducing the measure at the next meeting. Commissioners Sam Humphreys, Peggy Richardson, Sid Campbell, Bill Biles, Ron England, Richard Matherly and Mark Ferguson all cast "no" votes.

For a wheel tax to be enacted, it must be approved by two-thirds of the commission on two separate readings.

Commissioners will vote on the wheel tax on first reading at their July 23 full commission meeting.