Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Washington Cnty $50 wheel tax passes 1st reading

Washington County includes Johnson City in the Tri-Cities area.

Washington County commissioners approved a $50 wheel tax on first reading Monday as a way to pay back more than $138 million in bonds earmarked for the county's school and jail building projects.

Commissioners voted 19-6 in favor of the new tax, which must pass on second reading by two-thirds of the commission in order to go into effect on July 1.

Voting in favor of the wheel tax were Commissioners Greg Matherly, Pete Speropulos, Paul Woodby, C.B. Kinch, Peggy Richardson, Frank Bolus, Mark Hicks, Jim Powell, Phil McPeak, Wendell Messimer, Bill Biles, Kyle Shell, Gerald Sparks, Scott Buckingham, Mark Larkey, Janice White, Ben Bowman, Evert Jarrett and Pat Wolfe.

In opposition to the tax were Commissioners Sam Humphreys, Sid Campbell, Ron England, Richard Matherly, Mark Ferguson and Danny Edens.